Professor Owl’s Book of the Week ~ October 6, 2017

The Dragon’s Cave Kindle Edition

by Rose-Marie Lyttle (Author)

A DRAGON’S TREASURE. A GREEDY KING.
ONLY ONE BOY CAN RESTORE BALANCE BEFORE THE MOUNTAIN IMPLODES.

Seamus’s day couldn’t get any worse. His best friend stops speaking to him, his cross-country coach benches him, and lightning strikes him down, right in front of his middle school. But it does get worse. When he wakes up from the lightning, he finds himself trapped in the body of a young squire in medieval Scotland. At the base of a haunting mountain, a tyrannical king leads Seamus and a group of soldiers to face off with a dragon. When a knight who seems eerily familiar is wounded, Seamus is the only one who can find the cure deep within the dragon’s lair.

As he approaches the cure, the terrifying dragon traps Seamus and has a chance to end his life. But the dragon spares him, saying that the young squire is on a quest that could change the world forever. Seamus learns he must make a dangerous pact with new allies to save his friends’ life and secure one last chance to get home.

The Dragon’s Cave is the first book in the series of medieval middle grade fantasy novels. If you like Eragon and How to Train your Dragon, then you’ll love Rose-Marie Lyttle’s incredible adventure for kids ages 9-14.

I could not put this book down until every page was read. The story has so much meaning for life. I loved Seamus and his adventure into the dragon cave. This is a great adventure story and also about morals too. Great storytelling, good characters, I do hope this is the start of a series.

Available from www.amazon.ca, www.amazon.com

Advertisements

Professor Owl’s Book Corner~Weekly Book Review for YA~January 14. 2017

Carve the Mark

by Veronica Roth (Author)

To be released ~ January 17, 2017

carve-the-mark

 Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.

This book is about the survival of a boy and a girl, but it is also about the survival of humanity, a nation, a planet, a galaxy. Can’t wait to see where this journey takes us.

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power—something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive—no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive—or to destroy one another

This is a great book, so easy to read not boring at the least, the world building is beautiful, you really get an understanding of the two nations on the planet.

I was unable to predict the ending of the story there was never a dull moment. The characters in the book grow a lot and change. You can feel the pain of the characters. There is a lot of violence in this book, and action, and not very much romance at all.

Available from http://www.amazon.ca and http://www.amazon.com

 

Coming this Spring ~ A new version and look for Professor Owl’s Book Corner ~ We would love to have your feedback, let us know what you would like to see here.