Professor Owl’s Book Corner ~ Weekly Book Review~ 19th. May, 2018

The Namarielle
(The Chronicles of Lashai ~ Book 1)

By Julien Jamar

 

Hollis studied her face in the light of the campfire. “So, how does a shepherd girl find herself in the Forest of Fondair, heading to the Kiatri to lead a crusade against the Fontre?”

Cassai had untied her braid and was unraveling it. The curls tangled themselves around her small fingers. “Not a crusade, war. Lashai belongs to us. We were a free, peaceful people under the Namarielle. The land flourished, and the people had plenty. The Fontre took everything: our herds, our crops, our money, they even burned down our churches. Why would they do that?”

Her gaze had fallen into the darkness between the trees, and Hollis assumed this was a rhetorical question. “So, we’re going to fight them; our small band of Keepers and anyone else we can find to join us will fight for our Lashai. And if no one else joins, I’ll fight them alone. I just can’t live as their slave. I won’t.”

A really well written and captivating book. I’m really looking forward to the next in the series. The storyline and the characters are really well rounded, neither all good nor all bad, with a lot of depth.  Once I started reading the book it was hard to put it down. I will certainly keep a lookout for this author’s works in future.

I would like to thank  NetGalley for the opportunity to  review this great book.

About Author

Julien Jamar

Born ~ The United States

Website ~ https://www.julienjamar.com

Twitter  ~  julienjamar

Genre ~ Fantasy, Young Adult

Julien was born in 1980 and spent the first few years of her life traveling through America with her family. She was raised in Dallas, TX. Her father, a prolific novelist and poet, taught her to write as a very small child. She writes dark, thrilling, fantastic tales of mortal battles and daring exploits. She also writes a helpful little blog designed to inspire a lighthearted approach to life’s trials and everyday tasks. She lives with her husband and five children in Marble Falls, TX. https://www.julienjamar.com

 

Available from www.amazon.ca, www.amazon.com, www.kobo.com and other fine books stores and Libraries.

Advertisements

Professor Owl’s Book Corner ~ Weekly Book Review ~ 28th. April, 2018

The Mars Room: A Novel

by Rachel Kushner (Author)

It’s 2003 and Romy Hall is at the start of two consecutive life sentences at Stanville Women’s Correctional Facility, deep in California’s Central Valley. Outside is the world from which she has been severed: the San Francisco of her youth and her young son, Jackson. Inside is a new reality: thousands of women hustling for the essentials needed to survive; the bluffing and pageantry and casual acts of violence by guards and prisoners alike; and the deadpan absurdities of institutional living, which Kushner evokes with great humor and precision.

Stunning and unsentimental, The Mars Room demonstrates new levels of mastery and depth in Rachel Kushner’s writing. It is daring and tragic, propulsive and yet beautifully refined. As James Wood said in The New Yorker, her fiction “succeeds because it is so full of vibrantly different stories and histories, all of them brilliantly alive.”

Absolutely stunning. Kushner gets better and better with each book. The Flamethrowers was excellent, but this story fits together even more and challenges the reader’s view at every turn. The style is stunning. Rachel has a distinctive feel for the rhythms of language and uses it perfectly in this book.

For me, this book was a great read which kept me hooked right through to the end of story.  I would like to thank NetGalley for the opportunity to review this book.

 About the author

Rachel Kushner

Rachel Kushner is the author of the bestselling novel The Flamethrowers, which was a finalist for the 2013 National Book Award, the 2014 Folio Prize, the James Tait Black Prize, and was chosen as one of the five best novels of the year by the New York Times. A book of early short fictions, The Strange Case of Rachel K, was published by New Directions in 2015. Her debut novel, Telex from Cuba, was reviewed on the cover of the NY Times Book Review and was a finalist for the 2008 National Book Award and the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, winner of the California Book Award, and a New York Times bestseller and Notable Book. Kushner’s fiction has appeared in The New Yorker, Harper’s, and the Paris Review. She is the recipient of a 2013 Guggenheim Fellowship, and 2016 winner of the Howard D. Vursell Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

Available from:  https://www.kobo.com,   https://www.amazon.cahttps://www.amazon.com,  and other fine bookstores.

 

Professor Owl’s Book Corner ~ Weekly Book Review ~ Wednesday, March 7th. 2018

 

The Legacy Builder
(The Chronicles Of Lincoln Hart Book 1)
By Ember Lane.

Barakdor, a virtual fantasyland packed with elves, dwarves, gnomes, and trolls.
Barakdor, a world sliding helplessly to war.

Lincoln wanted to be a warrior, a rogue or a mage, but he’d made a promise to himself, so he chose a builder. He wasn’t supposed to play the game on his own, but now he wanted to build a legacy for Joan, a sanctuary in a virtual world.

It was supposed to be a place where folk could come to get away from the terrors that the land held, a utopia he would create with his bare hands. It was supposed to be Joan’s legacy. But as the growling thunderheads of war gather, he begins to think it might be the last refuge. He begins to think it might be the land’s only hope.

I found this book to be well written with great characters and story structure. With lots of action that made it hard to put the book down until I finished reading it. Since this is book one I feel there will be a sequel. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.

Available from www.amazon.com and www.amazon.ca

Professor Owl’s Book of the Week ~ October 6, 2017

The Dragon’s Cave Kindle Edition

by Rose-Marie Lyttle (Author)

A DRAGON’S TREASURE. A GREEDY KING.
ONLY ONE BOY CAN RESTORE BALANCE BEFORE THE MOUNTAIN IMPLODES.

Seamus’s day couldn’t get any worse. His best friend stops speaking to him, his cross-country coach benches him, and lightning strikes him down, right in front of his middle school. But it does get worse. When he wakes up from the lightning, he finds himself trapped in the body of a young squire in medieval Scotland. At the base of a haunting mountain, a tyrannical king leads Seamus and a group of soldiers to face off with a dragon. When a knight who seems eerily familiar is wounded, Seamus is the only one who can find the cure deep within the dragon’s lair.

As he approaches the cure, the terrifying dragon traps Seamus and has a chance to end his life. But the dragon spares him, saying that the young squire is on a quest that could change the world forever. Seamus learns he must make a dangerous pact with new allies to save his friends’ life and secure one last chance to get home.

The Dragon’s Cave is the first book in the series of medieval middle grade fantasy novels. If you like Eragon and How to Train your Dragon, then you’ll love Rose-Marie Lyttle’s incredible adventure for kids ages 9-14.

I could not put this book down until every page was read. The story has so much meaning for life. I loved Seamus and his adventure into the dragon cave. This is a great adventure story and also about morals too. Great storytelling, good characters, I do hope this is the start of a series.

Available from www.amazon.ca, www.amazon.com

Professor Owl’s Book Corner~Weekly Book Review for YA~January 14. 2017

Carve the Mark

by Veronica Roth (Author)

To be released ~ January 17, 2017

carve-the-mark

 Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.

This book is about the survival of a boy and a girl, but it is also about the survival of humanity, a nation, a planet, a galaxy. Can’t wait to see where this journey takes us.

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power—something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive—no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive—or to destroy one another

This is a great book, so easy to read not boring at the least, the world building is beautiful, you really get an understanding of the two nations on the planet.

I was unable to predict the ending of the story there was never a dull moment. The characters in the book grow a lot and change. You can feel the pain of the characters. There is a lot of violence in this book, and action, and not very much romance at all.

Available from http://www.amazon.ca and http://www.amazon.com

 

Coming this Spring ~ A new version and look for Professor Owl’s Book Corner ~ We would love to have your feedback, let us know what you would like to see here.