Professor Owl’s Book Corner ~ Book of the week ~ 22/08/21

The Forest Kingdom

(Asperfell Trilogy, Book 2)

by Jamie Thomas

Briony is free from the walls of Asperfell, but not from its strange and savage world.

Lost in the frozen wilderness, Briony leads her friends ever northward, in search of a rumored cave wherein lies their only hope of returning home to the kingdom of Tiralaen with Prince Elyan, the rightful heir to the throne, to save her people from civil war.

What she discovers instead is an impossible kingdom of opulence and decadence beyond her wildest imagining. Here, an ancient goddess is about to awaken once more… and she has never forgiven Briony’s people for their intrusion into this world, nor the centuries of bloodshed that followed.

Caught in a deadly web of secrets and lies that stretches across generations, Briony holds the fate of two kingdoms in her hands. To leave this new world behind is to condemn its people to anguish and death. But to stay and fight, Briony must abandon her home and everyone she’s ever loved—including Elyan.

To save one kingdom, the other must fall.

A great fantasy series, the storyline and the characters really hold your attention throughout the book.

The plot and storyline just become more intriguing as the story and series develop. I am looking forward to the 3rd book in the series and cannot wait for it to be released.  I give this book five stars!

I would like to thank NetGalley for the advanced copy so that I could review it for Professor Owl’s book reviews.

Available from  www.amazon.com, www.amazon.ca, www.Kobo.com, and other fine bookstores.

Professor Owl’s Book Corner ~ Book of the week August 11th, 2021

These Hollow Vows Hardcover – July 20, 2021

Reviews:

by Lexi Ryan  (Author)

Product description:

“Sexy, surprising, and full of secrets. These Hollow Vows is a lot like the world of Faerie – seductive, enthralling, and dangerous. With two very different love interests, lots of heated moments, and a spectacular ending, this is the fantasy romance I have been craving”—Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Caraval series
 

“A sexy new take on fae fantasy, THESE HOLLOW VOWS swept me away from the very first page and left me breathless and impatient for the next installment. Brie is a smart, capable heroine readers will love to root for in a dazzling new world filled with magic and romance. Prepare to fall for your newest book boyfriend.”Lisa Maxwell, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Magician.
 
“Lexi Ryan wrote a beautifully broken and epic fantasy that completely blew me way. Complete with twisted fae, love triangles that make my heart pound, and exceptional world building, These Hollow Vows is a must read for fans of Sarah J Maas and Jennifer L Armentrout. I highly recommend and am in dire need for the next book!”—Carrie Ann Ryan, NYT Bestselling Author of the Elements of Five Series
 
“An enchanting story of magic, adventure, and the lengths we will go to for the ones we love. Lexi Ryan takes readers on a rollercoaster ride we won’t forget and leaves us begging for more of this story and world.”—Catherine Cowles, author of the Wrecked series

“Engaging writing and worldbuilding…. a compelling hook.”—School Library Journal

About the Author:

Lexi Ryan is the New York Times best-selling indie author of over twenty-five romance titles, and the 2018 winner of the Romance Writers of America RITA Award for Best Contemporary Romance: Long. Her novels have sold over 725,000 copies. She lives in Indiana with her husband, two children, and a spoiled dog. Twitter: @writerlexiryan.
 Abriella was a great protagonist in my opinion. She was strong, powerful and never backed down from a challenge. There were times where I was expecting her to take the easy way out because that happens a lot with YA protagonists, but honestly Abriella’s actions even surprised me a lot of the time and I was very impressed with her as a character

My review:.

I found the faerie world to be fascinating and a total fun location for the book to take place. The author did a grand job of setting up the differences between the Seelie and Unseelie courts, emphasizing that neither one of them is “good” or “bad”. Overall, this made the story a more fun and realistic too.

I enjoyed this read so much, that I could not put it down until I reached the end of the book, I will certainly be getting the next book in this series when it comes out sometime next year to find out where the  book takes us in Abriella’s next journey/

I would like to thank NetGalley for the opportunity to get this advanced copy so I could review it for you.

Available from: www.amazon.ca, www.amzon.com, www.kobo.com , other fine book stores and your. Public Library.