Professor Owl’s Book Corner ~ Book of the week ~ January 29th., 2020

When We Were Vikings

by Andrew David MacDonald

When we were Vikingsf

A heart-swelling debut for fans of The Silver Linings Playbook and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.

Sometimes life isn’t as simple as heroes and villains.

For Zelda, a twenty-one-year-old Viking enthusiast who lives with her older brother, Gert, life is best lived with some basic rules:

1. A smile means “thank you for doing something small that I liked.”
2. Fist bumps and dabs = respect.
3. Strange people are not appreciated in her home.
4. Tomatoes must go in the middle of the sandwich and not get the bread wet.
5. Sometimes the most important things don’t fit on lists.

But when Zelda, a grown woman who suffers from Fetal Alcohol Syndrome finds out that Gert has resorted to some questionable—and dangerous—methods to make enough money to keep them afloat, Zelda decides to launch her own quest. Her mission: to be legendary. It isn’t long before Zelda finds herself in a battle that tests the reach of her heroism, her love for her brother, and the depth of her Viking strength.

When We Were Vikings is an uplifting debut about an unlikely heroine whose journey will leave you wanting to embark on a quest of your own, because after all…

We are all legends of our own making.
I have read quiet a few books this past year, this one was certainly one of the best, an eye-opening and heart warming story of a young woman with Fetal Alcohol Syndrome who starts a journey on a quest to gain her independence and protect what is left of her family. This book really held my attention right to the end. it was a wonderful story, well written with great yet different characters. As a debut story written by Andrew David MacDonald, I am sure this won’t be his last great book. He is an author I will certainly follow in the future.
I would like to thank NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review this great book and a wonderful read.

About the Author

Andrew David MacDonald grew up in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. He won a Western Magazine Award for Fiction, was shortlisted for the Canadian National Magazine Award for Fiction, and his work has been anthologized in four volumes of The Journey Prize Stories, collecting the year’s best Canadian stories from emerging writers. He has an MFA from the Program for Poets and Writers at the University of Massachusetts-Amherst.

Available from www.amazon.com, www.amazon.ca, www.kobo.com and other fine book stores.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~