Professor Owl’s Book Corner ~ Weekly Book Review ~ 28th. July, 2017 ~ Ignite the Stars.

Ignite the Stars

by Maura Milan

Everyone in the universe knows his name. Everyone in the universe fears him. But no one realizes that notorious outlaw Ia Cōcha is a seventeen-year-old girl.

A criminal mastermind and unrivalled pilot, Ia has spent her life terrorizing the Olympus Commonwealth, the imperialist nation that destroyed her home. When the Commonwealth captures her, and her identity is exposed, they see Ia’s age and talent as an opportunity: by forcing her to serve them, they will prove that no one is beyond their control.

Soon, Ia is trapped at the Commonwealth’s military academy, desperately plotting her escape. But new acquaintances—including Brinn, a seemingly average student with a closely-held secret, and their charming Flight Master, Knives—cause Ia to question her own alliances. Can she find a way to escape the Commonwealth’s clutches before these bonds deepen?

In this exhilarating edge-of-your-seat sci-fi adventure—perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles—debut author Maura Milan introduces our world to a thrilling new heroine.

Ignite the Stars is a fast-paced sci-fi adventure with strong female characters. If you can get past the idea that a 17-year-old girl has been the most wanted criminal and rebel in the universe for several years, then this book is a fun and quick read.

The best part of this book is the way it handles the treatment of refugees and people from minority ethnic backgrounds. It feels very relevant to the world today and comes with a strong message of accepting who you are and being proud of your heritage, even when people around you are hateful.  This is another great reason to read this story.

I really enjoyed reading this book and think it’s worth picking up. I would like to thank NetGalley for the opportunity to review this book for Professor Owl’s readers.

Available from: www.kobo.com, www.amazon.ca
www.amazon.com, www.indigo.ca and other fine bookstores

About Author

Maura Milan

Maura Milan received her BA in Film Production from USC’s School of Cinema-Television and currently lives in Los Angeles, where she works in video production. Ignite the Stars is her first novel.

http://www.mauramilan.com

Advertisements

Autistic Teen Stuns Crowd #WATWB

 

The #WATWB was created as a mission to negate the overwhelming negativity that has been present in our social media streams. For every negative news story in the world, there are plenty of positive, uplifting stories that show hope, compassion and the resiliency of everyday people who face insurmountable challenges. Our hope is to share heartwarming stories that lift the human spirit. 

The last Friday of every month bloggers will share their stories led by six co-hosts, this month’s co-hosts are:

Peter Nena,
Inderpreet Kaur Uppal,
Shilpa Garg
Roshan Radhakrishnan
Sylvia McGrath/a>
and
Belinda Witzenhausen

 

 

For more information or to join our #WATWB please click here!

Autistic Teen Stuns Crowd as He Breaks His Silence and Gives Awe-Inspiring Commencement Speech

 

 

 

Professor Owl’s Book Corner ~ Weekly Book Review ~ 20th. July,2018 ~ “Children of Blood and Bone”

Children of Blood and Bone

The OrÏsha Legacy

by Tomi Adeyemi

 

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless King, Maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

Overall, I’m honestly so surprised Children of Blood and Bone was a debut: the characters, the pacing, the writing, and plot were all practically perfect. I would highly recommend it.

I received this book in return for my honest opinion ~ Thank you NetGalley for the opportunity to read a great story.

Other reviews of this great book:

“A phenomenon.” Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” Ebony

 

About the Author

Tomi Adeyemi

Tomi Adeyemi is a Nigerian-American writer and creative writing coach based in San Diego, California. After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she received a fellowship that allowed her to study West African mythology and culture in Salvador, Brazil. When she’s not working on her novels or watching Scandal, she can be found blogging and teaching creative writing to her 4,500 subscribers at tomiadeyemi.com. Her website has been named one of the 101 best websites for writers by Writer’s Digest.

Her debut West African YA Fantasy novel is CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE (Holt Books for Young Readers/Macmillan). The CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE movie is in development at Fox 2000/Temple Hill Productions with Karen Rosenfelt and Marty Bowen (Twilight, Maze Runner, The Fault In Our Stars) producing it.

If you want to know everything important about her and her stories, you can read this blog post: Why I Write, Telling A Story That Matters.

 Available from: www.kobo.com, www.amazon.ca
www.amazon.com, www.indigo.ca and other fine bookstores.

Professor Owl’s Book Corner ~ Weekly Book Review ~ 14th. July, 2018 ~ Pretty Waiter Girls by Greg Alldredge

Pretty Waiter Girls

by Greg Alldredge

Some monsters are still human.

In a magical 1899 San Francisco, the new millennium is quickly approaching. Of course, new inventions happen every day, some wondrous, some mundane while the streets produce a new murder every night.

Set against this backdrop a debutante goes missing, and socialite Helena Brandywine takes it upon herself, along with her trusted manservant, to discover what happened.

Did the woman run afoul of the Tongs in Chinatown? What horrors might she have exposed? Discover this Gilded Age while Helena uncovers her family’s secrets. The good and evil, where danger lurks around every corner. Can Helena Brandywine be prepared for the monsters she will uncover? Come search for the Pretty Waiter Girls.

Pretty Waiter Girls is an excellent steampunk adventure, with some fantasy elements mixed into a mystery plot. I love the steampunk setting and I really enjoyed the delightful protagonist, Helena Brandywine. Hopefully, there will be more of her adventures.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley, thank you..

Available from: www.kobo.com, www.amazon.ca
www.amazon.com, www.indigo.ca and other fine bookstores.

 

About Author

Greg Alldredge

I write books I would want to read. Normally short enough to read in a day or two, and exciting enough to make me want to finish. I want powerful women and men able to overcome adversity, stand up for what is right and willing to sacrifice for their beliefs. If these interests you check out one of my novels at most worldwide retailers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Professor Owl’s Bookcorner ~ Weekly Book Review 7th. July 2018 ~”Time School: We Will Remember Them”

Time School: We Will Remember Them

by Nikki Young (Author)

A power cut and a series of mini-disasters mean friends, Jess, Nadia, Tomma, and Ash barely make it to the station to catch their train to school. What they find is a far cry from the usually packed commuter train they’re expecting…

When they arrive at Hickley School, the children are surprised to find some of the buildings missing and they don’t recognize any of the other pupils, who are all dressed in a different style of uniform. The only person who takes the time to help them is Martha, despite being preoccupied with her own worries about her family being hungry and not hearing from brother, Henry whom she says is away fighting.
The children soon realise this is no normal day and it’s not until they return home that they’re able to figure out what happened. What they don’t know is whether it was a one-off day, or if they will get to see Martha and the other pupils again. Jess hopes so. She has something she needs to tell Martha. Not knowing how or why she feels a connection and an obligation to this girl she can’t explain.

I thoroughly enjoyed this great read. All the characters in the story felt so real, I could imagine what they were like and they felt rounded. I was especially impressed by the dialogue which sounded like the way I have heard children talk to each other and really helped to bring all the characters alive. I am looking forward to reading more in this series and enjoying the adventures of these four-time travelers.

About the Author

Nikki Young

Nikki Young is a writer and lover of stories, her first book, a spy story for children aged 8-12, was published in April 2017.
Nikki credits her lively imagination to an amazing childhood, growing up in Yorkshire in England and living in a cul-de-sac in the days when children could run free and left to make their own fun!
Now, she is a mum of three, but in her head, she has not really grown up and those memories of her childhood days remain strong and active.

Available from: www.kobo.com, www.amazon.ca
www.amazon.com, www.indigo.ca and other fine bookstores.