Professor Owl’s Book Corner ~ Book of the week ~ 17th July 2014

    Curse of the Scarab

(Big Honey Dog Mysteries #1)

H.Y. Hanna (Author)

 

Sarub-cropfinal

Price:

Kindle Edition ~ CDN$4.93

Paperback Edition ~ CDN$13.96

 

Product Description

THE WISHING SHELF INDEPENDENT BOOK AWARDS FOR CHILDREN FINALIST

Move over Scooby-Doo… there’s a new mystery-solving Great Dane in town! All Honey the Great Dane ever wanted was a peaceful life – walking her human, checking Peemail at the park – but when neighbourhood puppies start disappearing, life takes a sinister turn. Why are dead scarab beetles found after each disappearance? Do the strange markings on a gravestone really spell out an ancient Egyptian curse? And what about Max, the Pit Bull with a murky past, who seems to be hiding secrets of his own…can Honey risk everything and trust him or will it cost her the chance to save the puppies? Perfect for fans of Erin Hunter’s ‘Warriors’ and ‘Survivors’ series. Kids & dog lovers of all ages will enjoy this action-packed mystery filled with suspense and humour! The ideal middle grade read or a book for parents and children to enjoy together, as well as a great choice for middle school teachers and librarians. I think this story is spot-on. It deals with important issues, but they are an integral part of the plot, and there is no ‘preaching’.”

Collect the other books in the series:

  • A Secret in Time
  • Message in a Bauble
  • Treasure from the Past

* EACH BOOK CAN BE READ AS A STANDALONE MYSTERY

 Available from www.amazon.ca

 

This entry was posted in Newsletters by writingmama. Bookmark the permalink.

About writingmama

Sylvia McGrath ~ AKA Writingmama, a freelance writer from King City, Ontario has worked in the business field for about forty years obtaining business management experience and business writing skills. She also spent several years in social work for Children’s Services. Now retired is living her childhood dream of being a writer. A few years ago Sylvia decided to take a course in freelance writing, which she really enjoyed as it was the key to follow her dreams. Since completing the course, she has worked as a professional writer, a published poet and co-authored a book with Two Maximum Life Coaches about living with chronic illness; this is titled After The Diagnosis: The Journey Beyond.” She also co-authored an E-Book of Resources for the parents of children with special needs, chronic illness and learning challenges titled “The Treasure Chest of Resources,” part-one has already been sent to the Canadian National Library Archives. Sylvia has also written several articles on chronic illness for the following online sites. •www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/writingmama •www.helium.com/users/32475 •www.jacketflap.com/profile.asp?member=Writingmom Besides working as a freelance writer, Sylvia still finds time for two other passions of hers; to volunteer as a literacy tutor for her local Learning Centre, and assist in facilitating of workshops on disability awareness. Her main mission for the future is to write a series of books for young adults and children who have learning challenges and suffer chronic illness. At present she is also the co-owner and columnist for “Professor Owl’s Newsletter” which is published on-line monthly for children.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.